Is a Huntard who learns still a Huntard?

February 9, 2010 at 8:48 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Been thinking on what makes for a good player, from a 5man / raid perspective. Natural thinkiness (which sometimes, like when discussion my Theory of Optimal Combat Action, or TOCA, gets me more or less kicked out of guild chat! :O) + recent in-game stuff that highlights some points + I like lists (so why isn’t this one) = I’m working on a post. While it’s not done, yet, I’d like to highlight one important distinction.

ICC 10 Wednesday: it was a bit of a crap day/night for me, though I don’t remember why. It was also off to the fabled and apparently famous BoO start, wiping twice to Naxx trash by 14manning Anubbie – once to TRASH!, but hey, that’s lulz and unportentious. Though once we get to Icecrown Citadel?

Huntard: Ripping Deathbring Saurfang off the tank/s to come barreling towards you because you targetted the wrong thing to taunt, because SAURFANG IS NOT BLOOD BEAST. Twice. After the second time, and a just mid-raid yelling-at, I was feeling a bit shitty. Usually my huntard shenanigans are cheeky and fun. This was messy, and tragic. Which makes them … not shenanigans at all. Eeeevil shenanigans!

But you know what? We all make mistakes. Sometimes they’re stupid mistakes. I don’t care, you could be me, Amber, Pike, even The Great BRK, and you still can’t contain The Huntard. It’s one of those deals we sign. Warlocks agree to throw up a stone and throw down a cookie jar and then go splat because their purpose is served (<3 you, Cirisi!), Hunters try mightily but our containment barrels occasionally leak radioactive huntardation all over.

What is a big difference between a bad player (Huntard) and a Good One (ME!)?

I figured out what I did wrong, what caused this problem to happen, and figured out two ways to solve it (a possible alternation to overall raid strategy, or just taking a moment's breather). The second- or third-biggest trait I feel makes for good players is we see where we can improve, and fairly actively seek out ways to correct our problemgenic paradigms and to increase / refine our ability. We actively further our learning to play.

There's no five-point list there, no real way to do this, except to pay attention, think, and listen to what others who're as good as or better than you have to say, without just blindly following along. Actually, that kind of was a three-point list.

tl;dr: Math is a scrub who Distracting Shot'd Saurfang in the face, twice, and lived to tell about it because I LOVE FEIGN DEATH MU WA HA HA.

2 Comments

  1. Kotakh said,

    I think you pulling Saurfang instead of the blood beast was hilarious. Plus we still killed him so who cares if it wasnt a perfect kill?

    We’re BoO…we dont do perfect kill ffs.

  2. Echo said,

    I disengaged off the Lich Kings platform because I;’d been dropped by a valkyr and thought I wasn’t going to make it. As the disengage kicked in I almost landed right on the edge and went flying backwards into the abyss.

    My guild laughed. A lot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

